Keeping the Master(s) Private

One of the first things we wanted to do when we moved in was put up some curtains in our bedroom. Although the nice pink sheet that we had taped above the window was oh so pretty, I don’t think my husband loved it as much as I did.

I think we spent weeks looking at curtains in stores. We had the hardest time finding anything long enough for our 9 foot ceilings that we didn’t think looked cheap although not actually being cheap.

So, after all that looking I just decided to use Ana Whites Tutorial on making tab-top curtains and tweaked it a bit to make it work for our room.

It’s a little hard to see in the photos above but I used a brown/black suiting fabric for the main fabric. The striped center fabrics are attached to each panel and are a home decor fabric that have a tonal brocade print that you can see a little better in a closer up.

I think they turned out great. They are a good length (around 106″ i think) and have just enough gathers to hang nicely but not too much that they look like a prom dress from the 80’s. We hung them on a basic oil rubbed bronze rod that we found from Home Depot (Martha Stewart).

After the curtains had been up for a few weeks I added the curtain ties. I’m happy with the way they turned out and I think they finished the curtains well.

One important thing I learned on the way:

Always pin up your hem while the curtains were on the rod. The first time I attempted the hem by measuring and they ended up looking like a bad hair cut. Talk about disappointing.

Has anyone else attempted to sew their own curtains? Did you find dealing with the long fabric difficult? How did it go?

Leave a Comment.

