Bolting Fabric

I tend to accumulate excess fabric. Whether it’s just left over from a project or too good of a deal to pass up.

When we moved to the new house I chose to use our downstairs dens as a sewing room since we don’t really have a need for a home office. Unfortunately, because this room doesn’t have a closet I can no longer just shove all my fabric in a box and hide that in the closet.

So, after doing some online browsing I found multiple examples of organized and pretty displays of fabric rolled onto “mini bolts”. Tired of my fabric being shoved into the shelves of my Expedit bookcase and armed with a ton of Ikea cardboard boxes I got to organizing!

I cut each piece of cardboard about 7.5″ x 10.5. I folded each fabric (45″ wide) into quarters matching the selvage edges and it came close to being the 10.5″ tall. Then I just wound the fabric around the bolt and pinned in the loose end of the fabric at the end.

It took most of an afternoon to cut out all the mini bolts and wrap the all my fabric around them but I love the way it turned out.

I’ve always wanted to have a little mini fabric shop. Now All I need to do is clean up the rest of the room. Man, that looks a little messy.

Anyone else been creating some pretty storage or organization solutions lately?

Leave a Comment.

