Summertime Pillows (Just A Little Late)

Yeah I know this post is a little late. It’s not really summer anymore but I wanted to show off the fun pillow cases that I made this summer before I switch them out for something new. I’ve already got the fabric so once I find the time I’m getting right on it and making fall pillows. 

After we put together the furniture in the living room I wanted to add a little something extra. Even though I still don’t have a coffee table and I’m using stools as end tables, I wanted to add a little color to the room.  I thought adding some fun pillows would be a quick and inexpensive update.

When I was looking at fabric one day I came across a pattern that I loved but didn’t have a use for. I took this as a great opportunity to snatch up this fabric. Since the solid cotton fabrics were also on sale I grabbed some of those to match. I gathered a few pillow forms that I already had and added a few that I picked up from Ikea for a few dollars a piece.  I’ve got 2 – 20″ x 20″, 2-16″ x 16″ and the rest are 14″ x 14″ sized pillows.

I came up with a few ideas of patterns that I wanted to do and put that together with some ideas that I found on Pintrest. So here’s the pile of pillows:

I mixed up the patterns with the solids and I created some with ruffles and even one with a cute bow.

The pillow that took the most time was the chevron pattern made from half square triangles but it’s also one of my favorite.

All of the pillows were made doing a regular overlapping back with about 2 inches of overlap on each side.

After I had all the pillows done I stuck two of the smaller ones on the chairs . . .

then I spread the rest out on each ends of both couches.

I loved the way they turned out. They really break up the large solid furniture and add a fun pop of color.

Well now that they’re up it’s about time to switch to something more fitting for the fall. Good thing they were pretty simple to make and inexpensive. I look forward to creating many sets of pillow cases that I can switch out when the mood strikes. It’s a great way to easily change the look of the room with out making a big expensive change.

Anyone else creating some pillows of your own?

2 thoughts on “Summertime Pillows (Just A Little Late)

  1. I have a bunch of summer-y pillows on my to-do list, but I have yet to buy fabric. And now it is fall. I am hoping to have them done for summer 2045. I have been enjoying your blog, Kaity! Thank you for sharing your craftiness! I miss you and wish we could watch TLC shows together and then get into some kind of packing/crafting mischief together.

Leave a Comment.

