Wooden Plank Signage

I am a little sad to admit that I have been working on this project for a long time. It made it onto my Git ‘R Done list and I guess it worked cause I got it done! For the most part I think I worked on it for about 15 minutes once a week. It was by no means a difficult project, it just became a tedious one. This weekend however I finally sat down and made myself finish it.

To start at the beginning; a few months back when I picked up the boards for the chevron thread holder  and the scrabble sign I also got some with the intention of making a creative wood sign. I have been pining all sorts of wood signs that I love and thought that I could create something really simple that I could hang in the family room under the bird.

I’ve been pining a few things as inspiration. Here’s one I found:

Source: aimee-weaver.blogspot.com via Kaitlyn on Pinterest

This was another one that I liked:

Source: aimee-weaver.blogspot.com via Kaitlyn on Pinterest

I went the simple route with my sign. I chose to use 1×4 boards because I wanted to have more boards across the width. I cut each board 18″ long and then used the kreg jig to screw all the boards together.

Something I learned here was about switching the direction of the grain of the boards. I wasn’t able to take a good photo but the gain in the boards all curve in the same direction. You can see this be looking at the ends of the boards. Well I learned that if you have the grain all going the same direction and then kreg the boards together they do some major cupping. The whole sign curved up at both ends. Count that as a lesson learned. Learn by experience baby.

Anyway after I had all the boards together I used the Minwax express stain in walnut. I actually did two coats because I wanted a little darker color than the first coat gave me. I like the color and I think it works well with the rest of the wood in the room.

After the sign was fully dried I started working on the lettering. I heard somewhere on the inter webs that you should use chalk to transfer lettering so I went a head and tried this. I printed out the words I wanted to use and then cut them out and placed them on the sign with blue tape. Then all I had to do was rub chalk on the back of each word, go around the letters with a pencil and then fill in the letters with paint. I was too afraid to chalk more than one word at a time since it would start to rub off. This is why this sign too so long. There were so very many letters and I had to paint each one twice to get enough coverage, it a word it was tedious.

I would like to say that the chalk idea worked great but I don’t know that I can. I can say that it did in fact work. Although, since chalk is powdery it made a mess and didn’t ever really make a sharp line that was easy to follow. It worked, but in the future I think I will try something different.

Here’s a close up of what the chalk transfer looked like.

Finally after a long time we finally got it hung! Here it is in all it’s glory with the bird:

We found a couple of picture hangers at the hardware store and just used them to hang up the sign. Pretty simple there.

It’s nice to finally have that blank spot in the wall filled with the sign. We originally hung the bird so high because I knew I wanted the sign there. I feel like the bird finally looks a little more balanced there.

It took Chris and I a long time to agree on a verse or saying to use on the sign. He wanted something a lot more bird / hunting related and I wanted something that might actually mean a little something to me. We finally agreed on this one, sort of a compromise. This actually happens to be my father’s favorite verse. Maybe that’s another reason it took me so long to finish . . .

Anyone else doing so creative wood and plank signs?

Leave a Comment.

