Bring on the Fall (Envelope Pillowcase Edition)

I got another thing on my Git ‘R Done list!

I switched out the summer pillows for something a little more fall-like. I bought the fabric weeks ago but I just couldn’t seem to find the time to sit down and create the pillow cases. If you remember the summer pillowcases you could probably tell that they took a while to create. Well at first I thought these would go much faster, but it didn’t quite work out that way.

For the summer set of pillowcases I went with the solid colors because I knew I could go crazy with the patterns and it wouldn’t be overwhelming  This time around I picked out some fun patterned fabric in blues and greens. One matches the pillow on the telephone table and the rest coordinate together. At first I was going to just do a simple plain envelope back pillowcase. In the end I was afraid that they would look cheap and plain so I decided to add a little something extra, a piping edge.

So onto how I made my pillowcases.

First I spread out my fabrics and decided which fabric I wanted to put on each size of pillow. Since I had five fabrics and ten pillows I chose to do two pillows in each fabric.

Once I knew which size pillow I wanted in each fabric I got to cutting out the fabrics. Of course this was after ironed and folded all the fabrics first. Here they are below folded neatly and even with the 3/32″ cording I picked up to use for the piping.

To figure out the size of fabric I needed was really simple. First I measured the size of my pillow, for example I have one that is 20″ x 20″. Then I just added a 1/2″ per side and cut out a piece of fabric 20.5″ x 20.5″. This would be the front. For the two halves of the back I cut the width in half, in this case it was 10″ then I added 2.5″ to that to create a large enough overlap on the back of the pillow. So for the back I just cut two pieces of 20.5″ (height) x 12.5″ (width). (As a hint here; the first time I made some envelope pillows I only had about an 1″ overlap total and the pillow cases were so tight the backs gaped open and you could see the form. No cool.)

After I had all the pieces cut I decided to serge all the edges to finish them since I knew I didn’t really want to serge the pillowcases after the piping was attached.

Once all the raw edges were serged I  finished one side of each of the back fabrics by doing a 1/4″ double turned hem. It’s pretty simple. Just turn the fabric in a 1/4″ of an inch. Sew. Turn another 1/4″ and sew again. You may need to pay attention to the direction of the pattern on your fabric so that you end up with a left side back and a right side back, not just two left sides.

Once all those edges were finished for the back pieces I started working on the piping. I used this tutorial on how to cut my bias tape from Made using a 1/2 yard of fabric.

Here’s the overview of what I did as another reference. First I folded one end of the fabric along the salvage edge at a 45 degree angle.

Then I cut along the folded line and flipped it over so that the salvage edge was on the bottom. Then I pinned those edges together right sides facing in.

Then I just flipped the fabric around and did the same thing on the other side. You may notice here that the cut edges (or bias edges) are parallel to one another.

Then I just sewed the pinned edges together.

Once the fabric was sewn then I unfolded everything and pressed the seams.

Then you just fold,

Fold,

Fold,

And fold again,

Then all that had to be done was to cut the bias strips 1-1/2″ strips.

Once it’s cut into strips then I just sewed the lengths together so that I had a strip that was long enough to go around the whole pillow.

Once the bias tape is sewn together then the cording can be sewn into the piping.

I did this the same way as I did in the car seat tent.

Then I attached the piping to the front of the pillowcase using a basting stitch, while trying to get as close to the cording as possible.

Once the piping was attached then I sewed on the two back pieces keeping close to the piping as much as I could. The great thing about an envelope pillowcase is that it is easy sew since you don’t have to worry about leaving a gap to turn it with, the envelope back already does that.

Then all I had to do was turn the pillow cases right side out and give them a good pressing. Ta Da!

Since I went with the piping it took a lot longer than just the normal envelope backed pillowcase but, I think it was well worth the extra time. It really makes the simple pillows look a little classier.

Here’s one of the pillowcases all finished and stuffed with the form.

I’ll tell you one thing I noticed as I made more of the pillowcases. At first I tried to turn the corner with the piping as tightly as I could. After I made a few I started to take a wider corner. I found that this actually made the pillowcase look better and it didn’t cause any tucking in the corner of the piping. You can see that the blue one below has a bigger radius and I think looks a little better than the green ones. Although, once they are stuffed it’s hard to notice the difference. So moral of the story; don’t stress too much it’s only pillows.

Well enough of that talk. Here’s what the pile of pillows looked like after they were finished.

I must say I am really pleased with the way the way all the fabrics look together.

With all the dark weather outside the pillows seem to match the mood a little better than the bright ones.

My only wish was that there was a little more color in this room now . Even though it is looking good for fall.

Now I feel like that last little bit of the room is all decorated for fall (just in time for fall to be over). Just like the summer ones they will be easy to swap out when I want and I can just put them away for next year. Don’t you just love the patterns on the fabrics? Because I do. 🙂

Anyone else switching out some throw pillows? Have you created any envelope back pillow cases? Maybe even jazzed them up a bit?

2 thoughts on “Bring on the Fall (Envelope Pillowcase Edition)

Leave a Comment.

