Keeping My Toes Toasty

Another thing on my Git ‘R Done list was making some slippers and I’m proud to say that I finished them this week!

For the past few years I have had issues finding slippers that I like. Last winter I knit and felted a bunch of slippers for gifts and even made a pair for my self. I loved the way they fit and looked but after only a year of use each slipper had multiple holes in them. I guess I was just too hard on them.

You can see pictures and info on my knitted slippers on my Ravelry project page.

Since I threw those way I have had issues finding new ones I like.

I bought the Simplicity 2278 pattern awhile ago and have been wanting to give it a try just to see how it was. Well now that it’s gotten pretty cold around here my feet are in want of some toasty slippers so I finally got on that.

I was a little unsure what I thought about the slipper pattern so I didn’t really want to spend any money on them. I have quite a few scraps laying around so I gathered what I had left over from the fall pillow cases as well as other projects.

Well enough of the background information, here’s what they look like finished:

The pattern called for a fusible fleece to use inside the sole pad. I didn’t have any on hand so I just used a small scrap of warm and white batting that I had left over.

I really like the chevron pattern, although I don’t like the way the sole wraps up around the toe. It may be because the size medium was too small. I think if I made these again I would consider using something that blended with the top a little better and wasn’t white. Cat hair and white isn’t a great combination.

I didn’t have enough of the chevron so I used another of the fall pillow case fabrics that I had leftover.

The pattern also called for Jiffy Grip on the sole. Since I didn’t have any I used some fleecy interfacing and I added some dots of puffy paint to add a little grip. I have to tell you though I’m not sure that the puff paint worked very well. It’s better than socks I’m sure but I’m still just a little bit nervous about falling on my butt.

Well what’s the verdict?  Meh. They were quick to make and they didn’t take a whole lot of materials. In the end they fit ok but I’m not sure yet that I love them. They are however a pair of toasty slippers so I can’t complain too much anymore about cold toes!

Has anyone else attempted to make your own slippers? Maybe you have a pair that you’ve bought that you just love?

Leave a Comment.

