Rag Quilts: Animal Style

Update: The cat quilt pattern (S4993) is no longer for available from simplicity. I have had a number of questions regarding it.  I’m sorry but I’m not willing to sell or copy this pattern.

Another project that I was working on during December was these rag quilts. I’ve been looking at the patterns for these quilts for a while now and thought Christmas would be a great excuse to make some fun rag quilts for my niece and nephews.

Animal Rag Quilts 1

I used Simplicity Pattern 4993 for the large pink cat and Simplicity Pattern 1822 for the turtles.

I chose various patterns of flannels to use on each of the quilts. I went with a plain white cotton for the “batting”. I cut the cotton so that it was the same size as the pattern pieces and chose not to trim it back as suggested by the pattern guide. Since it’s just a lightweight cotton I knew that it would fray just as well as the flannel.

Animal Rag Quilts 4

The cat ended up being quite large, probably even big enough for me to use. I guess that just means that my 3 year old niece will be able to grow into it and use it for a long time.

Animal Rag Quilts 2

The turtles were quite a bit smaller as you can see. They were pretty quick to make up. I even followed the pattern pretty closely and did all the stitching lines as the pattern pieces indicated. It’s hard to see in the pictures but it can be seen lightly in person.

Animal Rag Quilts 3

I really like they way they all turned out and I’m happy I made them. It took me most of the weekend to cut and sew the three quilts. The pieces all went together well. The only thing I didn’t love was that all the seem allowances were 1 inch. Usually when I’m making a rag quilt I use a 1/2 inch seem and I like the way that that frays much better. It just didn’t seem worth the time trying to alter all the pieces for a smaller seem allowance so I just went with it.

Has anyone else made any animal rag quilts or a more traditional rag quilt perhaps?

Update: The cat quilt pattern (S4993) is no longer for available from simplicity. I have had a number of questions regarding it.  I’m sorry but I’m not willing to sell or copy this pattern.

6 thoughts on “Rag Quilts: Animal Style

  1. I made the Simplicity 3955 Clown Fish for my little cousin. I chose 80/20 batting inside and, for the orange, a tie dye flannel (since discontinued) that worked really well with it; I think it gives the impression of dappled underwater highlights and fish scales.. It took a long time but the results were definitely worth it! He likes Nemo and so I think he will really love this big soft quilt.

Leave a Comment.

