Wooden Storage Box

I have been “working” on this box for a long time. I even mentioned it back when I created the Git ‘R Done list. I am proud to say that it’s finally finished.

Months ago I was looking for some kind of storage box or basket that I could put in our bedroom that would be able to hide blankets and other things. My criteria included that it must have a lid, be black and cost less than $40. Well I searched all over and wasn’t able to find anything that satisfied what I was looking for. I could find a brown basket with a lid or some kind of black basket that had no lid but never exactly what I wanted. As I looked more I found that what I really wanted was a wooden box, stained black that had a removable lid. I knew that if I was going to find something like this I would just have to make it.

I started coming up with ideas in my head and I thought that I would like it to be made of slats of wood formed into a box. I figured out what my maximum overall dimensions were based on the size of the couch and where I wanted to place it. I thought it would be nice if the box could also serve as a side table for the mini couch we already have in the room. I started sketching out some different options and finally came up with this.

Wooden Box 1

It was quite a puzzle trying to work standard board sizes to be used to make a box.

So there’s the back story onto the plans!

Materials List:

4 – 1×6 – 8′
1 – 1×2 – 8′
Kreg Jig
Pocket Hole Screws
Finish Nails
Hand Sander
Drill

Cut List:
4 @ 1×6 – 17.5″
9 @ 1×6 – 21″
6 @ 1×6 – 15″
2 @ 1×2 – 19″*
2 @ 1×2 – 13″*

*Cut these last, measure the inside of the box and subtract 1/2″ to get this measurement.

Finished size: 17.5″ x 22″ x 18″ (including lid)

Directions:

First I cut all the boards to size. (Unfortunately I made a miscalculation when I first started and I was two sides short so this isn’t actually all the boards)

Wooden Box 2

Then I started by setting out all the boards grouped by side. I marked the boards for where I would need to drill the pocket holes. Unlike when I made the Wooden Quote Sign I made sure that the grain was altering direction on each board.

Wooden Box 3

Then I started assembling the boards together to create the sides, top and bottom panels. For the longer sides I used the pocket holes to attach the boards together. You will also notice that there is another row of pocket holes along the bottom, these I used when assembling the sides to the bottom panel. (You can ignore the extra two pocket  holes on the ends of the last board, they were a mistake) There is also another panel just like these for the bottom, they just don’t have the extra row of pocket holes.

Wooden Box 6

For the short sides I did the same thing. The only addition was that I did need the pocket holes that are on each end of the boards. These are used to attach the sides together.

Wooden Box 5

The last assembly was for the top. No extra pocket holes needed here.

Wooden Box 7

I took the opportunity with all the panels still separated to do all the sanding.

Wooden Box 4

Once everything was smooth I started assembling the sides together. I clamped the long side to the table and setting a short side next to it. I was careful to make sure all the extra pocket holes for the bottom were all facing the same way.

Wooden Box 8

Then I set the short side up and held it in place while I used the pocket holes to attach them together. While I screwed I was careful to hold the board in place and go slowly.

Wooden Box 9

Then I twisted it around, clamped it down and attached the other short side.

Wooden Box 10

Then I clamped down the other long side and placed the other sides on top.

Wooden Box 11

I’m pretty sure that I was only able to do this because I was using a smaller drill. If I would have used a larger drill it may not have fit inside the box.  Now that all the sides are attached together I set them on top of the bottom.

Wooden Box 12

At this point I squared up the sides to the bottom as much as possible. Then I started by screwing a few holes on opposite sides and then filling in with the rest. Holding everything as still as possible and continually checking that everything stayed flush.

Wooden Box 13

Now that I had the box together I put the lid on top just to see how it all looked.

Wooden Box 14

Next I prepped the box to be stained by wiping it down with a damp towel.

Wooden Box 15

I used Minwax Express stain in Onyx again. I followed the directions and this time I used blue shop towels to apply the stain. Towels were much better than the previous rags I had used. Once one became too saturated I could just throw it away.

Wooden Box 16

I let everything dry for at least an hour and then I came back to make the rail that will hold the top onto the base. This is where I measured the inside of the box and subtracted a 1/2″ and cut out the 1×2 at that size, tip to tip.

Wooden Box 17

Then I attached  the frame together using the kreg jig. Since the board are only 3/4″ thick I couldn’t really make the pocket holes without the hole showing on the side. Although since I knew this would be inside the box I didn’t care to much.

Wooden Box 18

The last thing I did was center the frame on the bottom side of the lid and attached it using the finish nails.

Wooden Box 19

Now the box is finished and read to go. All that had to be done is wait over night until the stain is fully cured.

Wooden Box 20

The I brought it inside, set it up and filled it up.

Wooden Box 21

The verdict? To be honest once it was in the room I just wasn’t very sure of it. It’s exactly what I was looking for and the color matched the bed frame well but there is still something amiss. I don’t know if it’s the color of the couch cushions or maybe the fact that I have still been meaning to paint the couch frame white. So all in all I think it will grow on me and it is doing it’s job by holding things.

Wooden Box 22

Anyone else creating something you just couldn’t find pre-made?

2 thoughts on “Wooden Storage Box

  1. Nice work! I have built a similar bin for my sewing room, and will make a lid to match, now that I’ve seen yours. (the plans are at morelikehome.net, under the 2×4 projects list). Mine needed a little extra something, too, and after I attached some rustic black handles at each end, it looked finished. Much better!

Leave a Comment.

