Farmhouse Doll Bed

Now that it’s after Christmas and this gift has been given I think it’s safe to finally share it without someone ruining the surprise.

Chris and I didn’t find a lot of time to be able to make many things for Christmas gifts but we were able to do this one. I’ve been wanting to make a doll bed for our niece and Chris helped me make one this year. We used Ana White’s Farmhouse Doll Bed pattern and pretty much just followed the directions. Since we keep a lot of scraps we were actually able to find everything we needed in our garage and cut it all down to size.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 1

While I was sanding away Chris assembled all the pieces by gluing and nailing them together with our smallest nail gun.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 2

He used a scrap of wood to center the top and bottom boards that attached all the slats together on the headboard and footboards.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 3

Here’s one side all assembled and ready to go.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 4

From there we pretty much followed the directions and attached everything to the frame. We did add an extra 2×2 board in the center of the bed to add a little extra strength.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 5

To finish off the bed I used two coats of kilz2 primer and two coats of white paint to finish off the bed.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 6

The only part we had to buy was a small sheet of thin plywood to use as a base for the mattress.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 7

Of course I couldn’t stop there I had to create a little bedding set.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 8

I made a mattress and pillows using Ana White’s pattern. To go with is I put together a simple little quilt using scraps I already had on hand.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 9

Of course since I’m crazy and little addicted I also couldn’t help but cut out some shapes with my silhouette to personalize it a bit more.

Farmhouse Doll Bed 10 Farmhouse Doll Bed 11

I just love the way it turned out. As usual the sanding and painting could be a little tedious at times but I think the end product was worth it.

Were you able to make any of your Christmas gifts this year?

3 thoughts on “Farmhouse Doll Bed

  1. Hi Kaity, That is so cute!!!! Grandpa was the first one to see it and he hollered at me and I thought he said. “Come see the “dog bed” Kaity made”. At first I thought it was a little overkill for a dog — then I realized it was for a doll. Any girl would love that. You could sell those by the dozens. Good job, you guys.

    Was great to see you at Anita’s. Have a happy New Year. Grandma

    _____

    • I would love to post the look on Kylie’s face when she opened up this little bed! She was delighted all over! We also have a picture of Bryce sitting on it! Good Planning on your part for re-enforcing the bottom. It is adorable. Truly adorable.

Leave a Comment.

