Winter 2014 Ravellenic Games

Unless you have been living under a rock or perhaps you really hate sports (either way I don’t judge) you know that today is the official opening ceremonies of the Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia. I enjoy watching random sports as the much as the next person but what I really love about the Olympic Games is the knitting!

I’m sure most of you are thinking what does knitting have to do with the Olympics? Well actually February 7th also marks the opening of the winter 2014 Ravellenic Games.

Ravellenics2014banner.3

A few years back I heard about this phenomenon. I finally joined in during the 2012 games and I loved it so much I had to come back for more.

Since I’m guessing that most of my readers have no idea what this is I’ll give you the quick break down. Starting with the opening ceremonies of the actual Olympics all through the closing ceremonies you knit or crochet like crazy. The goal is to challenge yourself in any way you like. Then when you finish a project you can enter it in to various “events”. There may not be any fancy gold medals in this “olympic” games but it’s still pretty fun to join in with yarn lovers all over the world to create so many fantastic projects. For me it’s a great chance to work on some projects that I just haven’t been motivated to finish.

If you happen to be a fellow yarn lover it’s not too late to join. Hop on over to the Ravelry site, join the group and you can find out all the details there.

Now I’m off to knit up a storm!

One thought on “Winter 2014 Ravellenic Games

Leave a Comment.

