Woodland Animal Canvas for the Nursery

Back when I created the nursery mood board I mentioned that I had found some really cute woodland animal cutouts from the Silhouette store. I knew that I wanted to incorporate them somehow and I finally decided on making some art to hang on the nursery.

I picked up six flat canvas boards to use as backgrounds. I also picked out three paint colors that matched the papers I picked out as well and the rest of the room colors. The colors I grabbed where Indian Turquoise Barn Wood and Irish Moss.

Nursery Woodland Animal Canvas 3

To give the canvas a sharp border I used a one inch frog tape around the edges of the canvas. It’s pretty similar to what the creator of the cutouts did on her blog post here.

Nursery Woodland Animal Canvas 1

It took about three coats to get a good full coverage of the colors. Once they were dry I just peeled off the tape.

Nursery Woodland Animal Canvas 2

As for the animals I just adjusted the sizes and cut them out using my silhouette. I used glue to assemble the layers of the animals and then I used sticky glue dots to attach them to the canvas.

Nursery Woodland Animal Canvas 4

I love how all the animals turned out. I think they are just so cute and fill up this wall without being too much.

Nursery Woodland Animal Canvas 5

Nursery Woodland Animal Canvas 6

Chris helped me line everything up over the dressers and we used 3m velcro tabs to hang up all the canvases.

Nursery Woodland Animal Canvas 7

I think that pretty much concludes the nursery! Stay tuned for the final reveal. I’ve finally picked up and I’ve got a few more fun decorative finishes to share.

If you’re interested in the cutouts here’s the links: fox, raccoon, hedgehog, deer, owl, skunk.

2 thoughts on “Woodland Animal Canvas for the Nursery

  1. Hi Kaity, I tried to reply under comment but I don’t think it worked. Anyway, those pictures and the way you arranged them are so cute. Maybe after baby comes we can come see the baby and the room you have fixed for him. Love you, Grandma

    _____

  2. Kait, it’s driving me crazy that they aren’t all in a symmetrical line. I know how you arranged them and why you did that, but let me tell you. The OCD in me cannot handle it. Regardless, I love you and I love the nursery for baby Dan-Dan!

Leave a Comment.

